Darrell Scott
HomeAboutNewsMusicTourPress KitVideosStoreEmail UpdatesLinksWorkshopsWayne Scott
   Darrell Scott Store » LPs, CDs and DVDs » Long Ride Home My Account  |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout

Live DVD
LPs, CDs and DVDs
Digital Downloads
Songwriting Workshops
Long Ride Home
Click to enlarge

Long Ride Home

this is a country recording- 16 songs that travel as far back as 30 years- 2 songs (The Country Boy and You're Everything I Wanted Love To Be) written at 16, with my dad, Wayne Scott, when he rented a cabin in big bear lake, california just for us to write (we each finished the others' song) - there is a duet with Guy Clark (Out In The Parking Lot) on a song Guy & i wrote together - there are guest vocals from Rodney Crowell (Hopkinsville), Tim Obrien & John Cowan (No Love In Arkansas & Too Close Too Comfort), and Patty Griffin (You'll Be With Me All The Way)

i recorded the album at home where we sat up around the grand piano where THE pianist of country music, Hargus "pig" Robbins, presided (pig started recording in nashville in 1957 - the 1st hit he played on: George Jones' 'White Lightnin') - on drums, my kayak/bicycling friend, Kenny Malone, a studio legend since 1975 (his 1st hit was Dobie Gray's 'Drift Away') - on upright bass: Dennis Crouch (we'd played together in Steve Earle's Bluegrass Dukes & Dennis has played on virtually all T Bone Burnett's recordings for the last 10 years & toured with Elvis Costello, Elton John, Robert Plant & Alison Krauss) - we 4 were the tracking band - then i stayed with legends: Lloyd Green on pedal steel (Don Williams, Charlie Pride), on harmonicas: Charlie McCoy (everyone from Dylan to Cash) & Mickey Raphael (Willie) - then singers, Marcus Hummon, Jonell Mosser & Kathy Chiavola (from Dixie Chicks to Emmylou Harris) and mixed & mastered by Ray Kennedy (Lucinda Williams, Malcolm Holcomb)

it is country music how i remember it - with some of the players that made the very music that was both lifting & breaking my heart as a kid - what i find is the country music industry has changed, but country & working people have not changed so much- they still love country music when they hear it - i hope they get to hear this

Track listing:
1. It Must Be Sunday
2. Hopkinsville
3. Out In The Parking Lot
4. Someday
5. No Use Living For Today
6. You're Everything I Wanted Love To Be
7. Dance In The Darkness
8. No Love In Arkansas (The Ring)
9. The Country Boy
10. Trying Not To Love You
11. Pay Lake
12. Candle For A Cowboy
13. Every Road Leads Back To You
14. Too Close To Comfort
15. You'll Be With Me All The Way
16. Still Got A Ways To Go


Booking and ContactPress Kit

Scott Simontacchi

BubbleUpDarrell Scott on MySpaceDarrell Scott on FacebookFollow Darrell Scott on TwitterWayne ScottFull Light Records